Cakes and Desserts · food

Sooji Besan Halwa~Dessert for Tonight

It has been a long tiring day,I am just back from my office and the only thing that I have in my mind right now is “what to cook for dinner”.That’s my everyday story actually- I ask my husband, look around in my kitchen , scan the refrigerator but ultimately my menu is decided only after I have a cup of tea.Tea Makes My Day !🙂

Today being in an exhausted state am planning to cook something which is quick a rice fry with veggies this will get done in twenty minutes.But  the thing is how can you end your end just by eating rice with vegetables You need a Dessert  🙂

My plan is to make :Suji ka Halwa (semolina dessert) but to my despair there is only two table spoon of semolina which is not enough to make this dessert 😦

So what should you do when you want to eat this Halwa but you don’t have  enough semolina at Home ??

Here comes a recipe Suji Besan Halwa- A dessert which is made with Gram Flour and Semolina- A perfect mixture of two flavors !

The ingredients that you need are :

  • 200 Gm of semolina and 200 gm of Gramflour (besan)- you can adjust the quantity as per your preference.
  • Ghee/Refined oil to cook
  • Sugar
  • Milk 250 ml
  • Cardamom powder
  • Almonds to garnish

Method

Heat Ghee in a pan and add semolina

 

When it turns light brown add besan and let this mixture turn golden brown.You have to keep stirring this in intervals so that its not burnt and this should be done on low flame.

 

When the mixture turns golden brown add milk.You can adjust the milk quantity if your mixture needs more of milk.Let this cook for 5 minutes

dscn1481.jpg

Add sugar , cardamom powder and mix well.

 

Garnish this with grated almonds and it’s done.You can cool this down for 10 minutes , cut into cubes and then serve it or you can just eat it the way you want !

DSCN1505

Your Halwa is ready to serve.

So if you want to add some sweetness  to your dinner, Try this dessert today.

 

 

 

 

